September 2010

Jonathan Weaver

Jonathan Weaver is a Professor and chair of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Detroit Mercy, where he teaches statics, dynamics, innovation and creativity, vehicle dynamics, robotics, machine design, design of experiments, mechanical measurements laboratory, computer aided engineering, product design and development, systems engineering, systems architecture, front end of innovation and design for X. His research interests and publications related to robotics, vehicle dynamics, design of experiments, robust design, engineering education, innovation, entrepreneurship, new product development and the product development process. He holds a BS degree from Virginia Tech and MS and PhD degrees from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. He serves as the co-curriculum director for the Masters in Product Development Program, is a Kern Entrepreneurship Education Network Fellow, and is part of a team currently working to bring entrepreneurship content to engineering and other technical programs at the university.

McRae Banks

McRae C. Banks is a Professor of Entrepreneurship and Strategy at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. For fifteen years, he was head of the Department of Management, WPI's business school, which is focused on innovation and entrepreneurship. He also founded, and for ten years directed, WPI's university-wide Collaborative for Entrepreneurship and Innovation Education. Banks received a BA and PhD from Virginia Tech and an MA from Northwestern University. His areas of interest include multiple opportunity recognition, rural entrepreneurship, economic development and entrepreneurship, and entrepreneurship in technological organizations.

Steve Wood

Steve Wood is Clinical Professor of Technology Entrepreneurship at Oklahoma State University, where he directs the Technology Entrepreneurship Initiative. He has started and sold his own successful technology venture, played an active role in a number of other entrepreneurial ventures, and also been a corporate entrepreneur. His educational background includes both an engineering degree and a CPA.

Michael Morris

Michael Morris holds the N. Malone Mitchell Chair in Entrepreneurship at Oklahoma State University and serves as Head of the School of Entrepreneurship. He previously served as Witting Chair in Entrepreneurship at Syracuse University and the Cintas Chair in Entrepreneurship at Miami University. While at Syracuse and Miami, the programs received national recognition and were rated among the top ten in the US. A widely published author and researcher, Dr. Morris has written seven books and over 120 peer-reviewed academic articles. He has served as President of the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship and Chair of the American Marketing Association's Task Force on Marketing. He is editor emeritus of the Journal of Developmental Entrepreneurship. In addition, he has been a principal in three entrepreneurial start-ups. Twice honored by Pi Sigma Epsilon as their national Faculty Advisor of the Year, Dr. Morris has received Edwin M. and Gloria W. Appel Prize for contributions to the field of entrepreneurship, has been inducted as a 21st Century Entrepreneurship Research Fellow by the Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers. He is a former Fulbright Scholar (South Africa, 1993).

Jonathan Rosen

Jonathan Rosen has directed the Institute for Technology Entrepreneurship and Commercialization (ITEC) at Boston University for the past three years and is now extending the innovation and entrepreneurial studies program across the BU campus on behalf of the Office of the Provost. Dr. Rosen serves as PI on a NCIIA grant to develop a student mentoring program at BU. Prior to joining BU, Dr. Rosen directed the Technology Implementation program at the CIMIT Consortium in Boston. Dr. Rosen has developed medical technologies for both advanced care and limited-resource settings for more than thirty-five years.

Karen Evans

Karen Evans teaches business law, entrepreneurship, intellectual property law and media law at Lawrence Technological University, where she was a Coleman Fellow for the 2009-2010 academic year. Karen is also serving as the Director of Intellectual Property Projects and Director of the Undergraduate Management Programs at LTU. Karen focuses her research on trademark law in the digital environment and intellectual property law in the university environment, and often gives talks on the interaction between social media and the law. Karen graduated from Wayne State University Law School, where she concentrated her studies on patent, trademark and cyberspace law.

Scott Meyer

Scott Meyer is the co-founder of 9 Clouds Inc., a social media marketing firm that connects businesses to their customers with cutting-edge tools for online collaboration, monitoring, strategy building, and engagement. With a Masters Degree in Peace and Conflict Transformation from the University of Tromso, Norway, he brings experience in cross-cultural communication and management to his customers who are attempting to navigate a globally competitive environment.

Stephen Jacobs

Stephen Jacobs is a faculty member in the School of Informatics, Interactive Games and Media. Professor Jacobs mentored six summer fellowship teams creating a variety of novel computing applications.

Jon Schull

Jon Schull is the Director of the Center for Student Innovation and is also a faculty member in the School of Informatics, Interactive Games and Media. As Director, Professor Schull manages the programming of the center and supports dozens of student projects.

Carl Lundgren

Carl Lundgren is a Professor in the Manufacturing and Mechanical Engineering Technology/Packaging Science Department in the College of Applied Science and Technology at the Rochester Institute of Technology. His collaborations with undergraduate students on research, product development and entrepreneurship has encouraged students to successfully pursue IP protection for their innovations, resulting in numerous student authored papers and the formation of multiple enterprises.