Congratulations to the BMEidea 2008 winners!

Pictured above: Back row left to right: Alec Zopf, Northwestern; Kurt Qing, Northwestern; Joseph Wood, Johns Hopkins; Dhanya Rangaraj, Johns Hopkins; Meet Patel, Johns Hopkins
Front row left to right: Shonali Midha, Northwestern; Lauren Smith, Northwestern; Sumona Nag, Stanford; Ellis Garai, Stanford; Henry Chang, Johns Hopkins; Hyun-Sun Seo, Johns Hopkins
Not pictured: Anup Shah, Stanford


First Prize: $10,000
Rapid Suture
Stanford University

Rapid Suture is a small, inexpensive device that allows for quick, safe, and easy surgical tissue manipulation during laparoscopic procedures.

Second Prize: $2,500
KMC ApneAlert
Northwestern University

Developing a device for premature infants that monitors abdominal breathing movements and sounds an alarm when the infant stops breathing.

Third Prize: $1,000
REGEN: Local Delivery of Post-Operative Analgesia
Johns Hopkins University

REGEN is a small implantable receptacle that diffuses pain-relieving analgesic directly at the site of a laparoscopic incision.

NCIIA, 100 Venture Way, Hadley MA 01035, T:1.413.587.2172, F:1.413.587.2175,,

© 2006 NCIIA All Rights Reserved.

Enter the Competition