BMEStart 2010 Winners

We're pleased to announce the winners of the first (2010) BMEStart biomedical design competition for undergraduate students. More than 60 entries were received from 30 universities across the US.

First place, winning $10,000:
HydrEYE CorneOasis Contact Lens, North Carolina State University

An inexpensive solution for patients who have lost control over eyelid function due to traumatic brain injury.  In place of current treatment methods, comprised of a makeshift eye patch of Saran Wrap and Vaseline, this lens will help keep eyes hydrated over an extended period of time while also preventing infection.

Second place, winning $5,000:
Procar: A Trocar Worth Trusting, Columbia University

To help decrease malpractice injury claims associated with use of the trocar surgical device in making incisions for laparoscopic procedures, Procar is an advanced trocar designed with a quantitative force-feedback system that will provide tissue layer differentiation and instantaneous notification of intraperitoneal access to prevent over-insertion through abdominal wall—which can inadvertently cause injury to underlying anatomy.

Tied for Third Place (sharing $2,500):
Malaria Retinopathy Automated Detection, Tulane University 

A technique that uses a multi-color LED array to more easily detect retina disorders often associated with cerebral malaria. 

Tied for Third Place (sharing $2,500):
Handheld Plasma Isolation Device, Purdue University

A device that is able to effectively separate plasma from a white blood sample in approximately two minutes without the aid of a power source.

Video pitch


Honorable Mentions

Design: Magnetic Eye Tracking Device (mETD), Arizona State University at the Tempe Campus
Affordability: Radiatrix, Marquette University
Global Impact: The Human Powered Nebulizer Project, Marquette University
Social Impact: Non-Invasive Urine Collection System for Females, University of Pittsburgh
General: Improved Eye Medication Applicator (the AccuEye), Johns Hopkins University
General: Liquid Metal Pacemaker Lead, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Congratulations! Awards presented to winners at the BMES Annual Meeting in Austin, TX in October. The 2011 competition will announced in the winter, 2010.

Media coverage

Inventors Digest