Olympus Innovation Awards winners announced at Open 2011

On Friday, March 25, during Open 2011, Olympus America and NCIIA recognized three outstanding faculty innovators and educators: the winners of the 2011 Olympus Innovation Awards.

The 2011 winners are:

  • Amy Smith from MIT wins the Olympus Innovation Award ($10,000). More...
  • Dr. Ashok Gadgil from University of California, Berkeley wins the Olympus Lifetime of Educational Innovation Award ($2,500) 
  • Dr. Soumyadipta Acharya from Johns Hopkins University wins the Olympus Emerging Educational Leader Award ($1,000). More...

Please join us in congratulating these three fine faculty, whose work has positively impacted the lives of millions of people around the world, and motivated a new generation of engineers and entrepreneurs.

Pictured left to right: Dr. Ashok Gadgil, the 2011 Olympus Lifetime of Educational Innovation Award winner; Dr. Soumyadipta Acharya, the 2011 Olympus Emerging Educational Leader Award; Dr. Laura Ferguson, Group Manager, Market Strategy and Research, Scientific Equipment Group, Olympus America; Amy Smith, the 2011 Olympus Innovation Award; and Phil Weilerstein, Executive Director, NCIIA.  

For more information, see the press release.